India shares Independence Day with these five countries

August 15, 1947, the day when India got freedom from the British rule, is marked as the day of the birth of the world’s largest democracy and is celebrated as the Independence Day across the globe.

It was on this day, our fist Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru proudly unfurled the Indian flag at the Red Fort in Delhi. Today, this day is marked as a national festival, regardless of religion, class, race and creed. It is celebrated with much pomp and show with several events and cultural programs.
















Goa has a cultural side to August 15. The Feast of the Assumption, which celebrates the ascension of Virgin Mary to Heaven, falls on this day. The feast is a grand affair at two major churches. At the Our Lady of Hope at Candolim in north Goa and Our Lady of Assumption at Velsao in south Goa, the nine-day novena precedes the feast.











Coincidentally, India is not the only country that celebrates Independence Day August 15. There are four other countries, which also celebrate their Independence Day August 15.

Here are the names of the countries:-

Bahrain: This Middle Eastern island country gained independence from its British colonial rulers August 15, 1971, after a United Nations survey of the Bahraini population. The Bahrain archipelago had been ruled by various entities, including the Arabs and Portugal, before it became a British protectorate in the 19th century.












Republic of Congo: The Central African country gained independence from French colonial rulers August 15, 1960. The region came under French rule in 1880 and became known first as French Congo, then as Middle Congo in 1903.


















North Korea and South Korea: Both North Korea and its sister state South Korea gained independence from Japan August 15, 1945, after the Korean Peninsula was liberated by the Allies at the end of Second World War. This day, Japan surrendered in World War II, in effect ending the war.

The government was created three years later August 15, 1948, and the country was officially named the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea. Pro-Soviet Kim Il-sung was made the first Premier of the country. The country celebrates its Independence Day as Chogukhaebangŭi nal or Liberation of the Fatherland Day.

This year marks the 73rd anniversary of Korea’s independence from 35 years of Japanese colonization in 1945. Gwangbokjeol (meaning Time of the Restoration of Light) is one of few public holidays celebrated by both the Koreas—South and North. Independent Korean governments were created three years later when the pro-Soviet Kim Il-sung was made first premier of North Korea and pro-US Syngman Rhee the first president of South Korea.











Liechtenstein: One of the smallest countries in the world, Liechtenstein was freed from German rule in 1866 and also celebrates August 15 as its National Day since 1940.

Liechtenstein decided to celebrate the National Day on 15 August as a combination of the Feast of the Assumption (a celebration of Assumption of Mary into Heaven) and the Reigning Prince’s birthday.

Celebrations include a Catholic mass in the meadows followed by a free drink and sandwich at the prince’s castle when the masses get a chance to chat with the royal family.

RELATED Centenarian freedom fighter still going strong